Aylan

150903084255-drowned-syrian-boy-brother-exlarge-169

Aylan

“I don’t want anything else from this world. Everything I was dreaming of is gone. I want to bury my children and sit beside them until I die.” – Abdullah Kurdi

Whose crisis is this
whose child
whose deadly voyage

My daughter is almost his age

The other day when a small bruise
appeared on her cheek
I nearly cried

Is it only me, or do other mothers
imagine terrible things,
falling branches, burning cars,
and being left alone
with love tearing through
a great abyss inside

She loves to play in the ocean
she picks up small seeds that have washed ashore
she understands much more
than she can say

and I am the opposite
searching for words, offering them up,
but knowing so little
and understanding
nothing at all

except this,
I would face endless waters
and waves
and bombs
for her

Only I don’t have to

2 Comments Add yours

  1. saratbaker says:

    Heartfelt, beautiful. One child plays in the ocean, another drowns there. The capriciousness of fate. We can’t comprehend it, as you say.

Leave a Reply

