Out of Africa

“If I know a song of Africa,–I thought–of the Giraffe, and the African new moon lying on her back, of the ploughs in the fields, and the sweaty faces of the coffee-pickers, does Africa know a song of me? Would the air over the plain quiver with a color that I had on, or the children invent a game in which my name was, or the full moon throw a shadow over the gravel of the drive that was like me, or would the eagles of Ngong look out for me?”

-Isak Dinesen, Out of Africa

2 Comments Add yours

  1. randy says:

    I’m sure Africa will have a song of you, just as Georgia does. Glad you’re reading it.

    1. Rebecca Corey says:

      Randy, I’m glad I have the book with me. It’s beautiful, so rich, so true. Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

