My First Kiva Loan

I’d like to dedicate this post to my beautiful little sister, Catherine Pamela Rose. Today I made my first loan on Kiva.org, the world’s first person-to-person lending platform.

I chose to send my $25 to a woman named Esther who lives in Juliaca, Peru. Esther has two children, aged 6 & 7. You can see her “borrower profile” here.

I chose to loan to Peru because my little sister, Catherine, was born there. Our family adopted her when she was just 3 weeks old. I spent six months in Lima, and my mom spent eight in what proved to be a very difficult adoption. Catherine’s mom was named Gladys. I wanted to find a borrower with her name, but couldn’t. Esther’s photo caught my eye, though, and I’m proud to say I am now a Kiva Lender.

When Esther has repaid her loan, I will get my $25 back and have the option of channeling my funds into another loan. I will be able to track Esther’s progress on the Kiva website, and even read about or watch video updates on Esther’s business and life.

I will write a longer piece about Kiva soon. I’m in San Francisco right now for Kiva Fellows Program training!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Catherine says:

    Aw thanks big sister! You’re the best! i love you!

    Love your little sister,
    Catherine! :)

  2. helen says:

    I’ve been loving your blog! I’m a huge fan of Kiva and the Fellows program- I hope that one day I can do it too- have fun meeting awesome people : )

    Helen

    1. rebeccacorey says:

      Hi Helen,
      Thanks for your comment and for reading! I am so excited about going to Tanzania as a Kiva Fellow. Training in San Fran wraps up tomorrow! I’ll be posting here and on the Kiva Fellows Blog. I hope someday you’ll be a Kiva Fellow, too. Don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

      Rebecca

Leave a Reply

